Activity Detail

Junior Explorers (12 weeks)

Junior Explorers more info...
Location: Greenacres Elementary School
Dates: Friday, September 20, 2019 -
Friday, December 13, 2019 details
Grades: K - Gr 2
Section #: GES012
Registration closes: Wednesday, September 18, 2019
PRICE: Contact School

Registration

Registration for this activity is handled by:
Name: Contact School
Url:
Phone:



Description

Stunt Planes & Gliders
Be introduced to the basics of aerodynamics as we learn about the forces that affect flight.

Movie Effects
We're going to learn first-hand how advances in science and technology make our favorite special effects possible!

The Science of Magic
Magic? No it's science! You'll learn the secrets behind famous magic that you can recreate for yourself!

Optical Illusions
Build your own periscope while learning about optics, reflection and sight. Seeing is not always believing.

Radical Robots
Delve into technology as we explore locomotion, gears, sensing and more in our activities with real robots!

Sonic Sounds
Discover sound, sound waves and the way household items can be used to create amazing movie effects.

The Science of Toys
Use bouncing balls, yo-yos and other classic toys to discover the science of motion through fun hands-on activities.

Wacky Waves
Investigate waves, density, buoyancy and the impact of tides on the environment. Create your own multi-density wave modulator!

The Science of Art
Art and science will collide in this session that ties these two subjects together. Experiment with color mixing and use chemistry to create works of art.

Great Gravity
Fabulous forces will be at work as we jump headlong into phenomenal physics with this class. Learn about inertia, center of gravity and more of Newton’s laws as we try defying gravity together.

Programs must meet minimum enrollment of 10 children in order to run.

Schedule

Friday, September 20, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, September 27, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, October 4, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, October 11, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, October 18, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, October 25, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, November 1, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, November 8, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, November 15, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, November 22, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, December 6, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM
Friday, December 13, 2019
3:05 PM - 4:05 PM

Please specify the 'Dismissal Options' to let us know where to direct your child after the class